Staff

Colleen Robertson, Ed.D. | Superintendent & Principal

dr.robertson@staff.somisusd.org

Dr. Robertson has had the honor of being the Superintendent Principal of Somis School since 2011. She earned her Doctorate from California Lutheran University. She still has the same excitement and passion for public education that she started with 29 years ago. Dr. Robertson has lived in Somis for 14 years and says this is the best place she has ever lived. She previously worked in the Hueneme School DIstrict for 22 years. She likes to say, She left home to come home. She has been married for 25 years to her very best friend Gerry.

0041

Alanna Godinez | Executive Assistant & Transportation Director

alanna.godinez@staff.somisusd.org

I have been at Somis School since 1995. I was hired as the bus driver/Transportation Director. As my duties shifted toward Executive Assistant more, I retired my bus driver license to work full time in the District Office.

0316

Maria Gonzalez | School Secretary

maria.gonzalez@staff.somisusd.org

http://somisusd.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/cropped-logo-6-8-17.png

Kim Charnofsky | Psychologist

kim.charnofsky@staff.somisusd.org

Kim Charnofsky is a native Californian who earned her BA and MA degrees at UC Berkeley in Cultural Geography (1984, 1989), and her MS degree in Clinical Child Psychology/School Psychology at Cal State Hayward (1996), with dual specializations in School Psychology and School Counseling. Ms. Charnofsky holds a California license in Educational Psychology (1999) and a Memory Interventionist Certificate (2015). Ms. Charnofsky is beginning her 22nd year of service in the field of educational psychology. In 2015, Ms. Charnofsky was awarded a Ventura County Association of School Psychologists’ Meritorious Service award for her SELPA work related to the PSW model of Specific Learning Disability, as well as the California Association of School Psychologists’ Nadine Lambert Outstanding School Psychologist Award for Region VIII. Ms. Charnofsky was the lead author of the Ventura County COMPARES, a research-based document that helps school teams understand the relationship between how students process new learning and the impacts of their cognitive strengths and weaknesses on their academics.

Paula

Paula Santora | Speech Therapist

paula.santora@staff.somisusd.org

0054

Jean Bricker | Librarian

jean.bricker@staff.somisusd.org

 

http://somisusd.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/cropped-logo-6-8-17.png

Erik Israelson | Information Systems Specialist

erik.isrealson@staff.somisusd.org

 

0362

Eleanor Barnett | Kindergarten Teacher

eleanor.barnett@staff.somisusd.org

Hello, my name is Eleanor Barnett and I am a kindergarten teacher at Somis Elementary. I obtained my Masters in Early Elementary Education through the University of Phoenix. This year will be my 5th year teaching and my 4th year teaching kindergarten. I truly enjoy working with children. I was born and raised in California. I have a caring husband, three wonderful sons, and two dogs. I love spending time with my family and walking my dogs on the beach.

0060

Lori Jarrells | Kindergarten Teacher

lori.jarrells@staff.somisusd.org

Lori Jarrells is delighted to be in her 18th year as part of the Somis School teaching staff. She graduated from the University of Toledo in Ohio with a Bachelor’s degree in Elementary and Early Childhood Education. She completed her CLAD certification and earned her Master’s degree in Special Education from California Lutheran University in Thousand Oaks. She loves the joy, discovery, and excitement that teaching kindergarten provides. In addition to the role of teacher, Lori is married with three children and a black Labrador Retriever. Her hobbies include camping, running and playing softball.

0249

Allison Brinkman | 1st Grade Teacher

allison.brinkman@staff.somisusd.org

 

0160

Maya Geisler | 1st/2nd Grade Teacher

maya.geisler@staff.somisusd.org

Ms. Geisler has been teaching at Somis since 2004. She loves working with children, I wouldn't have it any other way. Growing up in Camarillo, she attended a K-8 school. When she became a teacher she hoped she would work at a K-8 school for the close-knit sense of family that small schools have. Ms. Geisler's hobbies include taekwondo, baking, performing arts & relaxing with her sons. Oh, and she loves chocolate.

0353

Kyla Nolde | 3rd Grade Teacher

kyla.nolde@staff.somisusd.org

 

0047

Tom Wolf | 4th Grade Teacher

tom.wolf@staff.somisusd.org

Tom Wolf has been teaching here twenty years. He teaches either third grade, fourth grade, or a 3-4 combination. This year, 2017-18 will be a combo class. He graduated Middlebury College with a B.A. in English. He received his teaching credential through the Los Angeles Unified School District, where he taught for three years before coming to Somis. He loves kids, dogs, and The Boston Red Sox.

http://somisusd.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/cropped-logo-6-8-17.png

Richard Acosta | 5th Grade Teacher

richard.acosta@staff.somisusd.org

0031

Kimberlie McDonald | 6th Grade Teacher

kimberlie.mcdonald@staff.somisusd.org

Teaching in her 20th year at Somis School, Ms. McDonald is an innovative science and technology teacher. Her passiions include dance, travel, reading, motorcycle racing, health, running, her 4 children, spouse and 2 dogs. She is an award winning technology presenter for CUE Rockstar.

0218

Carolyn Gass | 7th Grade Teacher

carolyn.gass@staff.somisusd.org

 

0246

David Mitchell | 8th Grade Teacher

david.mitchell@staff.somisusd.org

 

0358

Kit Arce | Music Teacher

kit.arce@staff.somisusd.org

I have taught music in all levels TK through college (music majors). Teaching elementary music classes are by far the most challenging and rewarding. I was born in the Philippines where I studied from K - College in an all girls German / Benedictine Catholic School. I came here in the US for scholarly / higher studies in music history and ethnomusicology in Bloomington, Illinois for a year at Illinois Wesleyan University. I came back here in the US in 2000 to settle with my husband in Oxnard. I love the privacy, freedom and space that everyone else enjoy's in this country.

http://somisusd.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/cropped-logo-6-8-17.png

Brett Halvaks | PE Teacher

brett.halvaks@staff.somisusd.org

 

0352

Sandra Canchola | Transitional Teacher ELD Coordinator

sandra.canchola@staff.somisusd.org

 

0033

Heidi Moon | Home Study Teacher

heidi.moon@staff.somisusd.org

Heidi's love of learning is evident throughout her 20+ years in education. She has taught / directed the Somis Home Study program since 2002. Heidi enjoys crafting and the beach with her family of 5 and two dogs. She is currently perusing her Master's Degree in Special Education from Cal State Northridge.

0121

Joseph Grooms | Resource Specialist

joseph.grooms@staff.somisusd.org

Let me start off saying that Somis Union School is a great place to work and for students to learn. I bring 13 years of education from Cal State University Northridge into the school setting. I work as the Special Education Coordinator / Teacher. I raised my family here in Southern California and have a strong understanding of children's educational needs in our region. I currently hold credentials in general education, special education, and school administration. My early years in learning and degrees were in psychology prior to studying education at the University. I am easy to get along with and always feel free to approach me and ask anything.

0011

Janelle Contreras | RSP Instructional Aide

janelle.contreras@staff.somisusd.org

 

0332

Cathy Mier | Food Services

cathy.mier@staff.somisusd.org

 

0064

Becky Spencer | Instructional Assistant & Food Services Assistant

becky.spencer@staff.somisusd.org

 

0305

Maria Kadowaki | Bus Driver & Food Services Assistant

maria.kadowaki@staff.somisusd.org

 

0365

Angie Perez | Instructional Aide

angie.perez@staff.somisusd.org

 

http://somisusd.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/cropped-logo-6-8-17.png

Dunia Hijaz | Instructional Assistant

dunia.hijaz@staff.somisusd.org

 

0364

Kim Harris | Instructional Assistant & Noon Supervisor

kim.harris@staff.somisusd.org

http://somisusd.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/cropped-logo-6-8-17.png

Maria "Eva" Perez | Noon Aide

eva.perez@staff.somisusd.org

0018

Mauro Hernandez | Maintenance

mauro.hernandez@staff.somisusd.org

 

0002

Juan Magana | Maintenance

juan.magana@staff.somisusd.org